Library System of Lancaster County Minutes of the Board of Directors Meeting January 19, 2010

Attendance:

Board Members: Bud Rettew, President; John Havrilla, Vice President; Kay Rohrer, Secretary;

Larry Burkhart, Treasurer; Sandy Dinoff; Diane Hastings; Virginia McGrath;

Diane Rice; Robert Sabatelli. Prospective Board Members: Dudley Felthman; Hugh MacMaster; Kevin Service. Absent: Dale Reinecker;

BethAnn Zambella.

System Staff: Susan L. Hauer, Administrator; Donna J. Westerhoff, Internal Operations

Manager; James D. Showalter, Financial Manager; Laura Kauffman, Library

Assistant, Special Services; Ed Miller, Special Services Manager.

Guests: Deborah Beisell, Executive Director, Elizabethtown Public Library; Kristin

Fernitz, Director, Strasburg-Heisler Library; Herb Landau, Executive

Director, Lancaster Public Library; Margaret Perella, Director, Pequea Valley Public Library; Joyce Sands, Deputy Director, Lancaster Public Library; Kathy Smith, Ephrata Public Library Board; Kathy Thren, Director, Adamstown Area Library; Frances Vita, Director, Quarryville Library; Joe

Zappacosta, Director, Ephrata Public Library.

Call to Order The regular meeting of the Board of Directors of the Library System of

> Lancaster County was called to order by President Rettew at 6:00 PM on Tuesday, January 19, 2010, at the Library System office. A quorum was

present.

General Comment None.

Secretary's Report

Minutes

Kay Rohrer, Secretary, referred to the minutes of the November 17, 2009, **Approval** meeting, as included in the Board mailing. The minutes were approved as

presented.

Treasurer's Report Larry Burkhart, Treasurer, reported that the November 2009 financial report

is tabled until the February meeting.

County Burkhart referred to the County Commissioners' Direct Aid Distribution for 2010, as included in the Board mailing, and based on the agreed-upon

formula of 20% equal and 80% per capita. After discussion, the following

motion was made.

Commissioners' Direct Aid Distribution for 2010

Board of Directors January 19, 2010 Page 2

Motion

On motion by Sandy Dinoff, the System Board of Directors approved the County Commissioners' Direct Aid Distribution for 2010, based on the agreed-upon formula of 20% equal and 80% per capita. Motion carried unanimously.

President's Report

President Rettew reported that this is his last System Board meeting. He thanked Susan Hauer and the Library System staff, and gave special thanks to Donna Westerhoff and the Board. He noted that it has been a pleasure working with them.

System Board Appointments

Bud Rettew reported that three prospective Board members have been recommended by libraries. He noted that biographical information for all three candidates was included in the Board mailing.

The Adamstown Library Board has appointed Kevin Service as its candidate to serve on the System Board. Service's first term will end in January 2013. After discussion, the following motion was made.

Motion

On motion by John Havrilla, the Library System Board of Directors approved the appointment of Kevin Service to the System Board, as nominated by the Adamstown Public Library Board, to serve a first term ending in January 2013. Motion carried unanimously.

The Lititz Library Board has nominated Dudley Feltham to fill the unexpired term of Ron Vail, ending in January 2012. He noted that per the Bylaws, this will count as Feltham's first term. After discussion, the following motion was made.

Motion

On motion by Diane Hastings, the Library System Board of Directors approved the appointment of Dudley Feltham to the System Board, as nominated by the Lititz Public Library Board, to fill the unexpired term of Ron Vail. This will be Feltham's first term, ending in January 2012. Motion carried unanimously.

The ELANCO Library Board has appointed Hugh MacMaster as its candidate to serve on the System Board. MacMaster's first term will end in January 2013. After discussion, the following motion was made

Motion

On motion by John Havrilla, the Library System Board of Directors approved the appointment of Hugh MacMaster to the System Board, as nominated by the ELANCO Library Board, to serve a first term ending in January 2013. Motion carried unanimously.

Rettew reported that biographical information on the three appointees will be submitted to the Lancaster County Commissioners for their approval.

Board of Directors January 19, 2010 Page 3

> Interim Appointment

Rettew referred to a letter received from Columbia Public Library, and included in the Board mailing. The Columbia Library Board requested that System Board member Diane Hastings assume representation of the Columbia Public Library on an interim basis, expected to last until the fall of 2010. After discussion, the following motion was made.

Motion

On motion by Sandy Dinoff, the Library System Board of Directors approved that Diane Hastings will serve as Columbia Public Library's representative on an interim basis until approximately the fall of 2010. Motion carried unanimously.

Board Meeting Structure

Vice President John Havrilla reported that Board members in attendance at the January 12, 2010, Board Committee meeting discussed holding Work Sessions the second Tuesday at 4:00 PM; and Regular meetings the third Tuesday at 7:00 PM, during 2010. There was consensus among Board members to implement this meeting structure.

Announcement

Diane Rice announced that Debra Rosser-Hogben has been hired as the Executive Director of the Milanof-Schock Library.

Adjournment

Motion It was moved by Bob Sabatelli that the meeting be adjourned at 6:08 PM.

Motion carried unanimously.

Respectfully submitted,

Donna J. Westerhoff Recording Secretary