Library System of Lancaster County
Minutes of the Board of Directors
Annual Meeting
January 20, 2004

Attendance: Board Members:	<u>Voting</u> : Joe Duff, President; Fay Snyder, Vice President; Greg Diehl, Incoming Secretary/Treasurer; Janet Chalfant, Glenn Landis, Wayne Murphy, Kay Rohrer. <u>Non-Voting</u> : Mike Ireland, Outgoing Secretary/Treasurer; Sue Leggett; Robert McCarthy; Marianne Melleby; Dale Reinecker.
System Staff:	Susan L. Hauer, Library System Administrator; Donna J. Westerhoff, Internal Operations Manager; Renee M. Christiansen, Youth Services Coordinator; Dzintra Gorman, Manager, Collection Development/ Technical Services; Mary Ann Heltshe-Steinhauer, Community Relations Coordinator; William Hudson, Manager, Information Technology; Rhonda Kleiman, Business Information Coordinator.
Guests:	Katrina Anderson, Director, Quarryville Library; Deborah Beisell, Administrator, Elizabethtown Public Library; Sandra Dinoff, Director, Strasburg-Heisler Library; JoAnne Foss, Executive Director, Lancaster County Library; Herb Landau, Director, Milanof-Schock Library; Virginia McGrath, President, Adamstown Area Library Board; Joseph McIlhenney, District Consultant; Margaret Perella, Director, Pequea Valley Public Library; Roseanne Perkins, Director, Adamstown Area Library; Robert Spotts, President, ELANCO Library Board; Bonnie Young, Director, Lititz Public Library.
Call to Order	The annual meeting of the Board of Directors of the Library System of Lancaster County was called to order by President Duff, at 7:00 PM on Tuesday, January 20, 2004, at the Library System office. A quorum was present.
Secretary's Repor Minutes Approval	Mike Ireland referred to the minutes of the January 8, 2003, annual
Election of 2004 Officers	Wayne Murphy presented the following slate of officers for 2004, and opened the floor for discussion:
	PresidentJoe DuffVice PresidentFay SnyderSecretary/TreasurerGreg Diehl

Board of Directors Annual Meeting January 20, 2004 Page 2

Motion	On motion by Wayne Murphy, the System Board of Directors approved the slate of officers for 2004 as presented. Motion carried 7-0.
2004 Meeting Schedule	President Duff referred to the Meeting Schedule for 2004, and noted that it was approved at the December 2003 meeting.
Realignment of Voting Member Terms	Joe Duff reported that the voting member terms, as stated in the Rotation Schedule, expire in December. Per the Library System Bylaws, terms for new officers and voting members become effective at the annual meeting in January, and all directors serve until their successors take office. Therefore, to remain in compliance with the Bylaws and to assure the System is not without officer and voting member coverage, it is necessary to adjust the term ending dates on the Rotation Schedule. This change is permissible with approval by the Board. After discussion, the following motion was made.
Motion	On motion by Glenn Landis, the term ending dates, as stated in the Rotation Schedule, were adjusted from December to January. Motion carried, 7-0.
Trustee of the Year Awards	The Library System of Lancaster County initiated a Trustee Recognition program to recognize a Trustee of the Year at the Annual Meeting. Nominations were requested for trustees, both current and past, who have made a major contribution to libraries in the areas of preservation, growth or development. In this initial year of the award, two recipients were chosen:
	Joseph Duff, President of the Library System and Quarryville Library boards. Katrina Anderson, Director of the Quarryville Library spoke of Mr. Duff's accomplishments at the Quarryville Library. Sandy Dinoff, Director, Strasburg-Heisler Library, spoke on behalf of the Directors Council, who voted unanimously to honor Mr. Duff for his tireless effort to preserve the Library System through the restructuring process.
	Virginia McGrath, President of the Adamstown Area Library Board. Roseanne Perkins, Director, Adamstown Area Library, related Ms. McGrath's achievements over the many years she has served the library. Dale Reinecker, member of the System and Adamstown Library boards, thanked Ms McGrath for her diligent service to both the Library System and the Adamstown Library.
	Bob McCarthy read a letter he wrote thanking Wayne Murphy for his dedication to libraries in Lancaster County.

Board of Directors Annual Meeting January 20, 2004 Page 3

Employee Recognition	Dzintra Gorman introduced several members of the Collection Development and Technical Services staff to be recognized for their years of service with the Library System: Susan Nevin - 36 years; Debra Decker – 19 years; Deborah Glessner – 18 years; Brenda Emerich – 17 years. Mary Ann Heltshe-Steinhauer introduced Renee Christiansen in recognition for her service to the Library System over the past 11 years. Each acknowledged staff member was presented with a token of appreciation from the Library System.
Public Comment	None.
Adjournment Motion	On motion by Wayne Murphy, the meeting was adjourned at 7:30 PM. Motion carried, 7-0.
Respectfully submitted, Donna J. Westerhoff Recording Secretary	